Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Leopard gecko w/ abscess

Thanks

Default Leopard gecko w/ abscess

OK, I know this forum is for rhac health, but I have a leopard that is in serious trouble... or she was. I think she's (or he) is getting better but just wanted to ask some opinions.

These two geckos were dumped at petco and we took them in, near death. both were completely emaciated, had had improper supplimentation, and had no UV for the entire time this guy had them, who knows how long.

First, I'd like to say that I'm an experienced former vet tech, and pretty confident in my ablility to treat this animal to a certain extent- we do NOT have a good herp vet around here anywhere. (I don't want anyone to get mad at me for treating the critter myself....)
    The worse of the two had two huge abscesses just behind each eye. They were so big that they were her head appeared to be misshaped and the eyeballs themselves were actually pushed forward, distorting her eyelids. I presumed she was blind because both eyes appeared yellowed and hard, with the pupils not even visible. So we began treating right away with antibiotic ointment, and trying to get some food and water in her, as well as some UV light. virtually no change for about 5 days, except one of the two abscesses opened on it's own and drained. Then, I decided since she was looking a little stronger it might be time to lance the other abscess. I did so and drained some fluid off of it, and covered it with the ointment.