First Crested Gecko Babies! First Crested Gecko Death :(

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First Crested Gecko Babies! First Crested Gecko Death :(

So, I was excited to get my first hatchlings on Saturday. Today, 6 days later, the oldest one was found dead. What did I do wrong?

I'm pretty new to crested geckos, but I've had the parents for several months. The babies are in a small wire cage (still probably huge for them). Paper towels on the floor, shallow water and food dish. I've offered them baby food and crested gecko diet every day or two and mist the cage probably once a day. I haven't really confirmed them eating or drinking, but I figured they were since I never see the adults do it either (except with live food).

Not enough moisture? I read they don't even eat for the first several days. Temps are 78-82.

What did I do wrong?

Thanks.

how large is the "wire cage"? can you get pictures of them so we can see what you're talking about?

you get a confirmation of eating by either finding food missing from the dish (if you use a thin layer of cgd you'll be more likely to notice it) and by finding poop in the cage. also, some hatchling reptiles wont eat for the first week, partly because they shed for the first time and have eaten that.

if your temps jumped up to 82 degrees in their cage, that could have gotten him, especially if he was weak at all.

if they were housed together, it is possible that there already was fighting between them.
    Always check the Fauna BOI before you buy!
    :: iHerp :: Template Reptiles :: Canine Habits ::

Template Reptiles on Facebook

Comment

I am not the most experienced breeder. However, can you clarify what you mean by wire cage? Never heard of anyone keeping crested hatchlings in wire enclosures (does not mean it isn't done I suppose). But one issue I would see with that would be the ability to keep up humidity and drafts out.