Seriouse Help Needed Now!!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Seriouse Help Needed Now!!!

ok i know this is like the third thread on here but i literally went to check on sprite and theres something wrong, she is frailing her back legs everywhere there swollen and she feels really spongy like, i tried to give her something to drink and then she almost drowned herself i feel like such a bad owner but the shop i got them from told me to do all the wrong things, what do i do i have her with me right now and i'm almost in tears cause i don't wanna lose her!!! i'm such a crappy owner :'(

Separate her from the other gecko, put her in a smaller cage if you have one, don't give her a bunch of stuff to climb on. it should just be damp paper towels and some hide stuff. From what you have told us before, she sounds like she is undergoing a severe calcium crash. (I am NOT an expert, but those are all the classic symptoms.) Keep her quiet and try not to stress her out.

Tonight, mix up a slurry of calcium/D3 powder with some baby food or a little organic fruit smoothie (with nothing if you don't have these things, and definitely not with mashed banana) the idea is to mix it with something that will tempt her to eat. If you have an eyedropper or the fat end of a chopstick use it to brush a tiny amount on her lips, and see if she will lick it off. try do do this without holding her in your hands, as it will only stress her more. If you can get to a store you can also buy calcium glubionate; it is a liquid calcium supplement for children.

In the morning call a vet ASAP and tell them you have a crested with a calcium crash. If she made it through the night she _will_ need veterinary attention. He may give her a shot of calcium. Be prepared for some work; sometimes it takes a while to reverse the results; sometimes they come around quickly.