Cats and Gecko

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cats and Gecko

Hi , I’m still a newbie when it comes to gecko , I have a gargoyle gecko and we’re about to have 3 months since I got him , I really dedicated time for him and made him pillow forts and although he’s a gecko and they don’t much I had him outside for a pretty long time , recently I got a cat ( a stray ; I wasent expecting it) and since he’s basically solo pet I spend more time with him than my gecko , I know the whole “ geckos can’t / can love you” is controversial but what do u thinks that my gecko thinks when he sees me (and he really does bc their both in my room) with my cat more ? Does he just not care or idk . And for those worried about my gecko , I still hand feed everyday but now we only spend like 10 mins max . Sorry if I sound so dramatic it’s 2am and I need sleep!

Geckos don't "love" or bond with their owners, and your gecko probably couldn't care less if you spend more time with your cat. In fact, most geckos just tolerate handling, they really don't thrive on it, so if you're good with just giving your gecko good care and having him for a display animal, that's just fine.

As an aside, I would say to wean off the hand-feeding of your gecko, though, as they can become very dependent on that, and then won't eat if you don't hand-feed them - which makes it very difficult if you are gone for a few days, to have anyone else feed him. Make sure that he can eat on his own, with no assistance. Are you giving him the Crested Gecko Diet (powdered food + water) plus insects once in a while?
    Last edited by TAD; 02-26-2018, 12:39 PM.
    Eileen
    TAD "Tiny Ancient Dinosaur" (Crestie), Hidey (Garg), O.G. "Office Gecko" (Bauer's Chameleon gecko), TBD "Tiny Badass Dragon" (Western Bearded Anole), 3.1.0
    Rody Jane (cattledog/stinkwad mix), Dixie Moonpie (rattledog) George P-Dog (lab/Great Pyr) 1.2.0, Ringer (barn cat) 1.0.0

Comment