Temperature Help???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Temperature Help???

Hello everyone! I'm a little new to this site and forums in general, so bear with me.

I'm a beginner in owning reptiles, and just recently got a crestie (teetering on 2 years old), and along with him, I purchased a 12 x 12 x 18 Exo Terra Tank with a screen top and a Pangea DTH-100 hygrometer. Knight (my crestie) has only been here for two days and I've noticed some issues with maintaining his viv's ambient temperature. It varies daily from about 77-80 F, but ideally, since its the summer in Indiana, I'd like to have his tank be closer to around 73-74 F ish so I don't have to worry about the possibility of him overheating or getting too stressed out with a combination of higher temps + the transition to moving into my home. I've tried all sorts of things like the frozen water bottle + fan method and closing curtains on the windows that have them, but if I'm not paying close enough attention, the temperature begins to climb back up to 78-79 F and 75-76 F at night and it's definitely kept me on my toes. I do have vents open, but no significant A/C unit in the room Knight is currently staying in. I've considered moving him downstairs where its cooler, but I don't want to risk anything since the basement is not as clean as it used to be. Right now, the thermostat in our house reads 74 F.

I have no idea what to do; I expected that I would have to monitor the viv temp often, but not so that I'm anxious to leave my home. I'm desperately hoping it ends up being the fault of the hygrometer... any advice/solutions would be GREATLY appreciated.

Sincerely, a very concerned (newly) gecko parent.