Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Total beginner, lots of questons

Hi,
    I've been looking at getting a crested gecko for a while, but it's only been recently that I've been getting serious about it. Having just found this website, I've been reading the posts and such and have gathered some great info but I'd really love to just have some completely beginner stuff answered
    So, on to the questions!
    First off, any tips on what to look for when looking at geckos/breeders?
    Second, for the tank, I'm seeing a lot about starting small but I'm wondering about what size "small" means? And to that point, what the final size of a grown gecko's home should be?
    Also I'm wondering what people recommend for food, I know a lot of people are talking about some specific diets, while others are saying the geckos would be fine on crickets (if they'll eat them)?
    And finally, companionship: do these geckos do fine on their own or should I be looking for a friend for him/her as well?

I'm sorry if these questions have been asked a million times! I also welcome any random tips/tricks

Thanks a ton!
    Pix

First off, any tips on what to look for when looking at geckos/breeders?
    Talk to the breeder (I'm a breeder ) you're considering and get a feel if they're in it for the money or if they truly care about the geckos. I like to get to know the seller before I buy an animal.

Second, for the tank, I'm seeing a lot about starting small but I'm wondering about what size "small" means? And to that point, what the final size of a grown gecko's home should be?
    After having geckos for a few years, for small geckos I just eyeball it so I'm not much help there. For adults however, the rule of thumb is 20 gallons for one gecko and +5/10 gallons for each additional gecko. Some geckos are different and prefer smaller or larger cages but 20 gallons is a good starting point.