Incubation Times....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Incubation Times....

Okay, well I paired two of my cresteds up over 3 months ago. To be exact, I witnessed copulation on June 10. My female laid 2 eggs exactly five weeks later on July 15. Then again on August 9, September 1 & September 26. The incubators temps have basically remained in the low 70's (71*-75*) since the first egg was put in, except maybe twice of temps approaching 80*. My question is this, my oldest egg is 12 weeks now with no baby. I candeled it and saw red, but not really any veins. What's even odder is that there is something poking out the bottom of the egg that looks like the tip of a tail. If the egg has gone bad, wouldn't it dent in and eventually mold? Or could a "bad" egg show all the normal signs of a healthy and fertile one? Thanks in advance everyone.
    -Harold
    CC Herps http://www.ccherps.com

Coming soon...

www.versatilevivariums.com

That is very odd. I have no experience with this sort of thing but I'd say that after twelve weeks you might consider opening the egg to see if something went wrong. Do you have any pictures of the protrusion?
    -Marina York-

4.3.1 Rhacodactylus ciliatus
    0.0.1 Rhacodactylus chahoua
    0.0.1 Rhacodactylus leachianus leachianus (B)
    1.0.0 ball python
    0.1.0 BCI
    0.2.0 leopard geckos

Comment

I have heard of eggs hatching after 90 days or more so I wouldn't open the egg yet :? I dont know about the tail? sticking out maybe it is hatching now Post a pic if you can...
      ~ Cheers,Mandy

www.crestedjunkie.com

Comment

Temp seems to directly affect how long it takes them to hatch. Low 70's is pretty low. I keep mine at 78-81 degrees and have had six clutches hatch in 59, 60, and 61 days. So, don't open the egg. Chances are it's taking longer because your incubation temps are so low.
        Visit us online at: www.crestedgeckogirly.com
        Like us on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/crestedgeckogirly21