Where to begin?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Where to begin?

Hey all, for those of you who don't know me, I am very intent on getting a crested ( or possibly gargoyle) gecko in the near future. I am extremly excited, and I have been doing my research, but, I was wondering, where do you suggest I begin? I am a high school student, so, therefore I am on a somewhat modest budget, but, is it recommended to purchase ..say....one male, one female, two females, a male and a female, or what? I know it is partially preference, but, in the long run, where would be a good starting point?
    Thank you everyone for your help and kindness!

- Derek

buy one of matt's babies. there is a big sale going now. also buy some "clarks diet". and all u really need for housing a baby in is a critter keeper.
    http://img359.imageshack.us/img359/7...fbba61fvt1.gif
    www.world-reptiles.com

Comment

Juveniles would probably be best to start with (and cheaper). If you get a few, hopefully you'll end up with at least one pair in the long run should you decide to breed later. Adults are a bit hardier, but I think raising them and seeing their colors change over time is a big part of the fun.
      http://www.facebook.com/appalachian.ectotherms

Comment

its up to you..

Just go with what you think is best, theres no bad choice. You could get some older sexed animals for more, but be guranteed of the sex. However on the other end you could most likely get a group of juvies for cheaper and raise them up hoping for a ratio in your favor, as well as enjoy watching them grow. Although with a group of juvies if your luck is like mine you would end up with 1 femalle and 5 males. ARGH Either way its all up to you, just do whatever you feel makes more sense for you..........

good luck

ps if your like most rhac keepers whatever you decide to buy probable wont be your last rhac purchase either
        http://www.enviedreptiles.com/
        Check it , You wont regret it.