Baby crestie walking weird??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Baby crestie walking weird??

A bit of a read but I’m very frustrated/concerned about my baby Crestie!!

I purchased a baby crested gecko from pet smart around the first of may this year, meaning she’s probably no older than two months. I’m new to reptiles, but my s/o has a crested gecko who’s a bit older than two years and is super cute and healthy. So he’s taught me a lot.
    anyways,
    Shes very clumsy, she doesn’t really stick to anything including the walls of her habitat. No shed is stuck on her feet or anything.
    I notice that sometimes when she’s walking, she’ll stick either of her front legs waaaaay up in the air, almost vertical, for just a few seconds until she walks/moves again. I can’t find anything online about this anywhere.

Currently I have her in a plastic container with multiple air holes. It’s about 12x18x8, and she’s barely 4.5 inches. I had her in a 12-12-18 but she kept getting behind the background, so I moved her into the smaller one until she gets a bit bigger.

no uvb lighting as most people say you don’t need one. My house/room stays around 70-75?f, and if it’s around that temp outside I’ll take her out for some direct sunlight at least every other day. Humidity is fine most days, but I don’t have a hygrometer so I can’t be exact.

She acts normal other than the weird walk. She won’t eat much unless I feed her with a feeding stick (or what I stir her Pangea up with.)

I haven’t tried crickets because they’re not much smaller than her, and she wouldn’t be able to catch them anyways due to her weird/slow walk. She’s been on the Zoomed CGD, but I switched her to Pangea Growth & Breeding (which is recommended for babies/juveniles) with insects in the mix.

She doesn’t really lick much of the water off of the sides/leaves either, but she doesn’t seem dehydrated.