Covered in substrate

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Covered in substrate

I'm a first-time crested gecko owner, so I'm new to a lot of this. When I got my little guy (hes about 5 months old now I think) his tank came with a bag of coconut fiber eco earth. I kept him on paper towels for a while so I could see if he was pooping, and decided after a couple months to put substrate in the tank instead to help with humidity. He ended up immediately covered in substrate. I've been super careful not to let the substrate get too wet. I'm really worried about him somehow getting impacted because of it so I've switched back to paper towels, but where am I going wrong? Is he just too small to be in substrate right now?

Note: I'm not sure how much he weighs. I ordered a scale to weigh him with and it should be coming any day now, so I'll update when I weigh him!