Mossy Leaf Tailed Gecko- Newbie

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mossy Leaf Tailed Gecko- Newbie

Hi there, Im very new to the website. A little about my background, I have been keeping aquatic turtles successfully for 5 years and axolotls for a little over a year now. Recently I have been thinking about keeping non aquatic reptiles and my choice will be geckos. As for species I have been doing extensive research on what I might be interested in keeping and the mossy leaf tailed gecko is definitely on top of my list.

Now I am by no means unfamiliar with proper reptile/amphibian care however non aquatic reptiles are a new territory for me so I wanted to ask for some advice and have all my information straight before I make any gecko purchases in order to be able to provide the best care for my pets.

I am aware that leaf tails are fairly hard to care for however one of the reasons I picked them is because of this challenge. In the future I would like to breed them but before I even attempt to do so, I wanna make sure I master their care and am able to successfully keep them alive and thriving for a year or two.

Now to my specific questions.

1) I have been reading a bit about bio active habitats and their benefits to the animal. However I am curious about how to start up a proper bio active substrate without getting any harmful mites or creatures into the cage. I have read a few sites that say they just get their substrate from out in the wild. This seems like a good way of introducing harmful species to the habitat. So if this is indeed a bad idea, the people who have successful bio active habitats, how did you start your substrate?