Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

20 Gallon Paludarium for some kind of gecko?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 20 Gallon Paludarium for some kind of gecko?

Hi I am a student who is making a paludarium (half water and half land) for a school project. The problem with this is I really want a lizard that meets the following requirements:

-Nocturnal (so no UVB!)
    -Can swim (water is 8 inches deep)
    -Won't eat fish
    -Can live in 20 gallons (essentially 10 with the water)
    -Price does not exceed 30 dollars (I live in Canada by the way)
    -Not a crested gecko (My classroom already has one)

I was thinking of getting a leopard gecko, but they don't really suit the environment well. So I don't really know what lizard to go with. Any suggestions?
    Here is some pictures of the tank: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0Bx...1g1aU5IM2F2OGc

Thanks in advance!

I was going to say Chinese water dragon but their dinural and need cages that way exceed 20 gallons and that's too much water for one, I can't think of anything really that would fit that except for some frog species that enjoys swimming like some dart frog species but they need specialized lights and more land than water. A small turtle species would work but again, specialized lighting and a larger cage, I don't think there's anything for that type of cage but I'm not the best out there on reptiles. Definitely not for a crested or leopard gecko, probably not any gecko species at that, a young turtle would work but the dirt wouldn't work as it would just trail into the water and the cage would have to be upgraded in size, I'm honestly stumped for something for that cage as well as almost all reptile species that swim are land oriented but swim on occasion so I don't think anything would work really sorry, I hope someone else can give some good input on that
    Sam
    C.Ciliatus 4.1.4.2 E.Macularius 1.2 Lampropeltis getula floridana 0.1 Boa Constrictor Imperator 0.1