Mixed Terrariums Questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mixed Terrariums Questions

I'm new to the forums but not new to keeping lizards. I have been keeping and raising for five years. I love all kinds of lizards and would love to give a go at a large mixed terrarium. I know most people frown upon this but I have see a few successful mixes normally arboreal. With enough research would it be possible to have a nice large natural terrarium? Saying that you took lizards from the same region and all conditions were the same and were all the same size. Would it be easy to make a good Eco system for said lizards and maybe throw in some other small cridders? I would love to hear feedback and possible suggestions!
    0.1 Flying Gecko
    2.2 Tokay Gecko
    1.1 Bearded Dragon
    2.0.1Crested Gecko
    1.0 Ball Python

The only cases I've heard of mixed terrariums working involves very large enclosures with keepers who are very knowledgeable about the species involved.

You have to take many things into consideration such as:

- natural aggressiveness of the species - many species won't even get along with others of the same kind, much less others of another. Gargoyles and cresteds, for example, would not go well together.

- territorial instincts - some species are naturally more territorial and defensive of their space than others.

- reptiles the species would consider "prey" in the wild - small frogs or anoles, for example, are often viewed as prey by many of the larger lizard species. Leopard geckos are viewed as prey by some of the larger frogs.

- habitat requirements - merely being from the same region does not mean they require the same conditions.

Do you have any particular species in mind that you'd be interested in working with? I think people would be able to provide you with better feedback with something to go on. You mentioned arboreal, but I would specify which ones in particular if you can.
    ~Cassi