Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which chameleon should I choose?

Hey all,
    So my mom has been hinting that she wants a chameleon & she knows I'm going to the show in Pomona, so I guess I'm expected to bring her one when I return. To be honest, I haven't done any research yet as far as housing, lighting, etc. I'm inquiring here first because I have heard that certain chameleons are harder to care for than others & I'm hoping someone here can give me some insight as to which chameleon would be a good "first chameleon" for her. After I narrow down which chameleons I should be looking at, then I will find out everything that is neccessary to care for that animal. This wouldn't be her first reptile, just her first chameleon, so its not like she's a total newbie.
    I appreciate any advice. Thanks.
    -Kim
    5.3. Cresties - Maka, Cecilia, Mata, Professor Spottington, Oopsie, Seymore, Murphy, & Dinah
    1.1 RETF - Malvina & Reynold
    2.0 Red Eared Sliders - Peek-A-Boo & Aku
    1.0 Western Painted Turtle - Bosko
    1.2 Pups - Kineda (AkitaX), Goldie (Golden RetX), & Lucelli Jonas (Mini Doxie)
    2.0 Spoiled Pussy Cats - Finnegan & Frye
    & oodles of koi & other fresh water fish, all of whom I've named, but its far too long to list!

Veiled Chameleons are the best "first" ..in my opinion and experience.
    "Be who you are, and say what you feel. Because those that mind don't matter, and those that matter don't mind." - Dr. Seuss

Comment

Bearded Pygmy Chameleons and Spectral Pygmy Chameleons are very hardy and easy to take care of.

But if you want a true, Old World chameleon, the Veiled Chameleon is the way to go. Cheap, hardy (for a cham), and easy to find...
      1.0 Bearded Dragon
      0.1.1 Leopard Geckos

Comment

a first time chameleom owner would probly be good with a vield or a panther. a vield is pretty cheap and hardy but the panther has alot more colors and varietes but is more on the expensive side.