Thread: Abnormal hatchling

Thanks

Exclamation Abnormal hatchling

Hi I have been breeding geckos for a few years now thankfully without any issues with my hatchlings.
    However this is a first for me.
    So gargoyle egg over 90 days, sweating like mad but no sign of hatchling, perhaps not as large as I would have expected it to be.
    I took hard decision to assist the hatchling out but did not expect what I found.
    It's quite graphic so if you don't like this sort of thing please don't click on the picture link.
    The poor little thing had a larger head than expected a small body & the most shocking thing is that he had his vital organs, looks like heart, lungs & ? gut outside of his body. You could see his heart pumping
    He was alive & made some movements but I felt I had no choice but to end suffering quickly as he would have not survived long anyway.
    I was just wondering if anybody else has experienced while breeding geckos??
    I am assuming something happened with cell division whilst developing in the egg??
    Name:  IMG_20170607_055854.jpg
Views: 46
Size:  48.6 KB:shock
    Last edited by AceGargoyles; 06-07-2017 at 04:22 PM.
    Ace Gargoyles
    Gargoyle geckos. 2.5.0
    Chahoua. 0:0:1

Thanks

I haven't had it happen with gargoyles, but I produce mostly leopard geckos and in the last 12 years it's happened twice. In both cases there was an abdominal hernia with the intestines protruding. Some people have been successful supergluing the cavity shut but it's never worked for me and needless to say, the geckos have not survived.

Aliza

Thanks

Update: the pair to this egg hatched last night. Unfortunately not a good outcome either. However this one just had it's gut/bowel outside of its body but this was still quite significant & again didn't live.
    I did have a feeling that this was going to be the case before hatched so it for me wasn't unexpected this time.