Thread: Getting 2 new geckos, have some questions + morph ID

Thanks

Default Getting 2 new geckos, have some questions + morph ID

Hello! I am getting 2 crested geckos this weekend from someone on Craigslist. The geckos seem healthy and are in an adequate sized cage but I have a few questions about their care.
    1. They are currently housed together, and have been for the last 6 years. One is male, one female. I'm not interested in breeding right now, how do I prevent breeding without separating them? Should I just separate them as soon as I get them?
    2. They are currently on a diet of fruit. I haven't heard this recommended before. How do I change their diet to something more sustainable?
    3. Their tank currently has a heat pad on the side. Would this be an adequate way to prevent temperature drops?
    4. Can anyone help me with their morphs? I'm relatively new to the idea of all the different morphs and am unsure of why they could be.
    Thanks for the help!
    5. Do they have good structure?
    My geckos:
    https://imgur.com/a/Tt47Y

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by Tygtrz View Post
    Hello! I am getting 2 crested geckos this weekend from someone on Craigslist. The geckos seem healthy and are in an adequate sized cage but I have a few questions about their care.
    1. They are currently housed together, and have been for the last 6 years. One is male, one female. I'm not interested in breeding right now, how do I prevent breeding without separating them? Should I just separate them as soon as I get them?
    2. They are currently on a diet of fruit. I haven't heard this recommended before. How do I change their diet to something more sustainable?
    3. Their tank currently has a heat pad on the side. Would this be an adequate way to prevent temperature drops?
    4. Can anyone help me with their morphs? I'm relatively new to the idea of all the different morphs and am unsure of why they could be.
    Thanks for the help!