Thread: Toronto Newbie - ISO help with all the things!

Thanks

Default Toronto Newbie - ISO help with all the things!

Hey everyone!

I've been humming and hawing about getting a crestie for about 2 years, and I finally bit the bullet with boxing day sales this year and bought a 12x12x18 Exo Terra. I've been stocking up on other goodies since, with the intent of setting up a live vivarium and introducing a juvie once it's established.

My current struggle is getting everything the internet has told me I need to get my live vivarium up and running smoothly. Isopods and springtails, leaf litter, and live plants all seem to be in the US with no international shipping.

I'd also really love to find a local shop that I can go to for consultation down the line - I had aquariums for years and know how far down the rabbit hole I usually end up, so would like to have a friendly yokel I can swap strategies with.

I'd really appreciate any suggestions for Toronto, Ontario, or Canada suppliers - excited to get started and have more than just a tank with substrate layers!

Cheers!

Thanks

LONG POST, SORRY...!

But yes, the pain of trying to get springtails in Canada....
    (triple pain when my colony crashes)

Here's what I did: call every private aquatics/reptile petstore. Persistently. They usually have small-time suppliers who might have them, and after a month one of the stores got some in.

Your second best bet is your local reptile expo. It's probably your best bet for your lizard, too - but here, http://www.reptileexpo.ca/ you're in luck - there's one just a week away. They will probably have isopods and spring tails there. They cost about $10 each per small deli cup colony.

I recently gutted my bioactive tank and put my lizard on styrofoam and paper towel. I can give you some pretty good tips about what not to do with the bugs ( ), but the rest the tips are kinda solid, sorry..!

Tips for isopods: