Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Cooling down and Gravid gecko?

Thanks

Default Cooling down and Gravid gecko?

Hey guys, I have yet another question about cooling down/breeding, sorry this is my first year. Anyway, will my girlie that's Gravid BEFORE cool down and still AFTER cool down, still lay that set of eggs? She is really close. Her usual lay days are from 7th-9 of every month. Also, the last couple of days it's been 68 degrees where she is, so is that okay or will she not lay since it's cold? I will move her to a warmer room if it's necessary. I know the cool down is to STOP them from laying, but since she is sooooo close to laying, will she? Sorry again. TIA.
    .1.DOG Jiggles
    2.1.CRESTED GECKO Dekstest,Phantom,Lovely
    .1.YBST Cloveth
    .1.MINIPIG Judy(food&belly rub is kinda apig deal)
    1..RAT CoconutRatMinneapolis
    4.4.COCKATIELS

Thanks

Cooling down is not like an on/off switch for egg production/laying, but more of a cue to tell the female's body that it is time to start ramping down egg production. I would not be overly worried about needing to keep her warm till she lays, but a gradual temp decrease rather than sudden would mimic natural cooling down more. She may lay, she may not if previous cues (like if exposed to changes in outside day/night cycle changes) have already signaled that she should be done. If she is still gravid right now with eggs coming, it can be normal for her to take longer to lay a clutch if at that point in her cycle when you start cooling.

Just keep an eye on her, give her gradual temp and light changes, and she should be fine
    Dedicated to the health, quality, and genetic diversity of Crested Geckos (Correlophus ciliatus)
    DoubleHelixGeckos.com
    Facebook Page
    iHerp Page

Thanks

Sorry double post, my computer is being sssssllllooooooowwwww
    Dedicated to the health, quality, and genetic diversity of Crested Geckos (Correlophus ciliatus)
    DoubleHelixGeckos.com
    Facebook Page