Thread: Help w/ Deciding on Lizard - Newbie

Thanks

Question Help w/ Deciding on Lizard - Newbie

Hey everyone! I'm pretty new to owning reptiles and am trying to decide on which lizard would be good for me to start out with. I did have a juvenile crested about 5 years ago, but due to some personal issue at the time I had to find him a new home. A crested may be the best for me to go with again, but I thought I would get some suggestions/opinions before making a decision.

I'm looking for a lizard or maybe even possibly an amphibian, that has some neat patterns/color options. I would like to be able to handle it without causing undo stress, which I'm sure this can depend on how much they're handled as a juvenile. I'm not saying it has to be handled on a daily basis, just not a species that you're never really suppose to touch. For my first one, I don't want anything that gets overly huge, so nothing over maybe a foot long at maturity. I am hoping to eventually give breeding a try, but that's later down the road once I know more about how to care for what I decide on. Any advice/suggestions would be greatly appreciated! I've done some much reading here lately that my eyes are about to cross, but I want to make a well informed decision before just jumping into purchasing.

Thanks

Most reptiles will be stressed by handling, some species are more forgiving than others but I would always keep handling to a minimum as it does not benefit the animal if you have a good enclosure. As you said, you could look again at cresties, or perhaps gargoyle geckos. Leopard geckos and African fat tail geckos can often cope with handling. Rankin dragons or painted agamas can be handleable and stay small. Viper geckos could also be worth a look.
    Abronia ~ Hemidactylus ~ Hemitheconyx ~ Holaspis ~ Paroedura ~ Phelsuma ~ Tribolonotus ~ Tropidophorus ~ Tropiocolotes

Thanks