Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Appropriate sized container help needed

Thanks

Default Appropriate sized container help needed

I'm new to crested geckos and am not sure what size home to keep them in at this point.

I have 4. Their weights are 3g, 6g, 7g, and 12g. I have the 3 biggest in a storage tub that is somewhere in the 30 gallon size. I have the 3g in a 10 gallon tank.

From reading some threads on here, it seems they need to be moved into smaller accommodations until they get bigger. Should I put the 3 larger into the 10 gallon and move the smallest into a 5 gallon tank? Or a different combo of them into something else? I'm completely confused on how to house them at this size and having 4 of them.

Thanks

Juveniles under 10 grams can be kept in quart size shoe box style plastic containers, and a 16-20 quart tub is good for up to around 20 grams I think. This is what some do. After that you can move the gecko into permanent home, 10 gal is bare minimum for adult enclosure, something larger than 20 gal is much better. Or you can use a large critter keeper from the start and move them into adult enclosure when the gecko is around 20 grams. This is what I did, except I moved my gecko into permenant home at 15 grams, he did fine with it. I've seen many differing opinions on this though. Some people move the gecko into permanent home at a smaller weight, and the gecko does fine. Others use a few more different sized tubs and move the gecko up through the different sized tubs.