Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Could need some advice on handling.

Thanks

Default Could need some advice on handling.

Hey,
    I'm pretty new to this, so i could need tome advice in terms of handling my gecko. I bought him nearly 2 months ago from a breeder near me and he seems to do fine in his terrarium. He eats without problems and he looks healthy too, but i have one problem with him:

He does not let me handle him. I can't even touch him. Everytime when I'm close to touching him, he simply runs away from me...I'm trying to show him that my hand is no threat by just sticking it in his enclosure and waiting for him to go near and interact with him...it does not really work that well. I don't know what i should do in terms of that...any advice?

Thanks,
    Crelio

Thanks

One of my babies does thesame things, all you need to do is gently grab them and take them out and some will calm down after they're out of the enclosure, if he doesn't calm down then just simply doing the hand walking technique should help, I handle all my geckos daily and even one of my most skittish girls calms down as soon as she realizes it's me picking her up. It just takes time and determination, every day or 2 for 10 minutes just gently pick up your gecko out of its terrarium and just handle it, get him used to your smell and being outside his enclosure and he should start to calm down withing a few days
    Sam
    C.Ciliatus 4.1.4.4 E.Macularius 1.2.0 Lampropeltis getula floridana 0.1
    Facebook: https://m.facebook.com/Aryas-Exotics-1841922079418266/
    Instagram: @sams_exotics

Thanks