Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Totally new to this. Trying to do it right.

Thanks

Default Totally new to this. Trying to do it right.

Hi everyone... I am totally new to this hobby.

I was a nano-reef enthusiast, but fish have lost their luster with me. I have broken down and sold my aquarium supplies, and hope to enter the world of lizard keeping.

Recently went to an exotic pet store near me, and instantly fell in love with Leopard Geckos, until I saw a Crested Gecko. They had babies for around ~$80. So I have been doing my research for about the last two weeks, and am slowly saving to get all of the right equipment the first time around.

I might do a tank build thread for fun or something, but I have some questions before I take too much of a leap.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

First I bought the terrarium. The pet store suggested a 12" x 12" x 18" Exo Terra or Zoomed. Research is saying that that is perfect for a Juvie, but an 18" footprint is best for 1 to 2 adults. So I sprung for an Exo Terra 18" x 18" x 24" terrarium. This is as far as I have gotten.

Here come the questions:

1. I plan on doing live plants. How difficult is this? I plan on springing for some quality substrate. Ideally some vines in the back and ferns in the front. Will there be any issue with too much/not enough humidity? Are there recommendations? Will 2 26watt CFLs for plant growth in the 18" Zoomed or Exoterra hood be enough?

2. I live in Pennsylvania. My house is a constant 65 degrees in the winter and doesn't go over 80 in the summer because I have central air. Is this ideal for Cresties? Will the lighting heat the tank too much?

3. I assume there are different color morphs. Are there any that are exceptionally beautiful?

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I will have more questions. Thanks all!

Thanks