Thread: bearded dragon in hibernation?

Thanks

Default bearded dragon in hibernation?

I just got a bearded dragon not too long ago...but for some reason it seems to be a lot less animated and sleeping a lot these past few days. I didn't change the diet at all, so i've ruled that out (unless the crickets/veggies i got were contaminated and making them sick). Did a little research here and found out that these reptiles actually go into hibernation (called brummation) even though they're in captivity and don't actually need to.

The problem is, how do i know my dragon is actually in hibernation and not sick or have some kind of disease? Also, isn't less than a year old a little too young for a reptile to hibernate? please help, thanks!

Thanks

I'm not a beardie expert, but my 3 year old seems to be starting brumation. It does seem odd for a dragon that's less than a year old to do that; usually they are eating like crazy the first year. It may be good to check on some bearded dragon forums, or to do a "just in case" vet visit.

Aliza

Thanks

The best place to ask questions about bearded dragons is on this forum: https://www.beardeddragon.org/forums...55696223e32eae

They are really helpful, and the people there will be able to tell you if the problem is related to temperatures, diet, or brumation.
    Boston Terrier 1.0, Stetson R.I.P. 8/15/2015.
    Rough Collie (rescued) 1.0, Teddy
    Crested Geckos 9.11.12
    Pine Isle Chahoua 1.0.1 Hunter, Cami
    Leopard Geckos 1.2 Confetti, Snowdrop, & Beauty
    Bearded Dragon 1.0 Jayden

4. The Following User Says Thank You to Gotagecko For This Useful Post:

Creepella (11-10-2014)

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by Gotagecko View Post
    The best place to ask questions about bearded dragons is on this forum: https://www.beardeddragon.org/forums...55696223e32eae

They are really helpful, and the people there will be able to tell you if the problem is related to temperatures, diet, or brumation.
    Thanks!

Thanks