Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: New to reptiles, Vivarium and Chahoua plans

Thanks

Default New to reptiles, Vivarium and Chahoua plans

So after a ton of research I have almost settled on my set up but for peace of mind sake I am asking to verify my readings. I am asking for all of your opinions as everyone here has more experience than me (which is zero). I have been doing salt water aquariums for over 10 years so I do come with some knowledge and a few tricks. I am going to set this tank up and work on getting everything to exact levels for geckos and plants for the next month, then come April 6th&7th I will go to Repticon in Denver and find my gecko.

Here are my ideas:

18x18x24 Exo Terra OR take the old 90g saltwater show tank out of storage and make a see thru or room divider style viv. as it is already drilled with bulkheads in the bottom for a water feature.
    -modeled in a vivarium style, possible water feature

Plants-thinking of purchasing from Lowes
    -Bromeliad, Money Tree or Madagascar Dragon Tree or Pony Tail Palm, Ferns, Orchids or Anthurium, Bamboo, and some sort of climbing or vine type plant (climbing fig?)

Watering
    -mistking or fogger? maybe both?

Gecko Species (male or female????)
    -this will house a single Chahoua or crested. Much prefer the Chahoua if I can get my hands on one. Do Chewies climb as much as cresties? stick to glass? And I have also read that they are heavier so they need stronger branches to climb on than a crestie?
    -natural style set up with isopods and springtails