Thread: new tokay breeder, quick question.

Thanks

Question new tokay breeder, quick question.

This will be my first year attempting to breed tokays, im not a novice at breeding reptiles but I would like input on how to Incubate the eggs if they are glued to the terrarium glass? Or if there is something i can do to get the female to lay her eggs else where?

Thanks

If she lays them on the glass leave them be. They should incubate fine if temps in your cage are correct. Mind you I have not bred tokeys but would like to down the road in a few years. If you want to have her lay some where else provide plenty of hides like cork bark tubes, etc. So if she glued in there you can remove the tubes to incubate out of the cage. I believe tokeys will gaurd their eggs though, so be careful when removing I heard their bite hurt. I would imagine even a tame one would strike if gaurding eggs.

Hopefully an actual breeder can help you better than I can.
    1.4.0 Leopard Geckos; 6.4.1.4 Crested Geckos; 0.1.0.1 Mourning Geckos; 0.1.0 Creamsicle Corn Snakes;
    0.1 Hedgehog; 0.2 Mice; 1.4 Felines; 1.1 Canines

Thanks

The joys of breeding tokays lol. I love tokays but Gargs and other geckos have bred so much easier because make things easier and just lay eggs in egg box generally.. Tokays however will lay their eggs where feel like it lol.. Most times it can be on glass, sometimes in some cork bark etc.. If they lay eggs on glass that it where the eggs going to stay because they will quickly be stuck their like cement. Incubating them in cage is fine however I have ran into problems with the geckos themselves destroying the eggs and even eating them.. I think few of times the eggs might of been bad and they knew it, even though they looked fine from what I could see. Another time it was later on and eggs looking good and not sure what happened but one day eggs gone.. After that I started covering the eggs with deli cup when on glass to keep dumb and dumber away from eggs lol.