Thread: Getting ball python to eat frozen rats?

Thanks

Default Getting ball python to eat frozen rats?

So, I got a brand new foster ball python. I have lots of experience with corn/hognose snakes but this is my first BP. I was told by the rescue that he ONLY eats live, and he is full-grown.

I let him settle in, and he's had two relatively successful feedings on small/medium live rats. However, I desperately want to switch him to frozen/thawed for my own convenience and for his safety.

I have read a lot about switching them over, and I understand the general concept of thawing out the rat and using the tongs to make them appear alive and encourage the snake to bite.

But I'd like to hear from someone who has real experience switching from live to frozen. From what I know he eats like clockwork every week, and while I hate to mess up a good thing I really don't agree with feeding live unless 100% necessary. I've never had to switch anything from live to frozen before, all my snakes have come to me perfectly willing to eat frozen, live, whatever I've thrown at them. I know that BP are notoriously pickier than corns or hognoses, though.

I was planning to feed him live a few more times just to bulk him up in case the switching causes him to fast, but he got a small bite from his rat today so I'd like to start switching him now.

Tips? Suggestions? Youtube videos?

Thanks so much!
    May you take time to celebrate the quiet miracles that seek no attention.

Thanks

Honestly my approach would be to start with fresh killed rats on tongs. Once he takes that for a few weeks, try frozen. The main key is to not give in. If he won't take F/K or F/T for 3 months, don't feed him anything else. He'll eat when he's ready.

Of course, if he starts losing weight and has no interest whatsoever after 6+ months, you'll just have to feed him live.
    Nicole

Thanks