Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: (HELP) 4 Eggs in 1 Month?- Is This Normal?

Thanks

Question (HELP) 4 Eggs in 1 Month?- Is This Normal?

Hello Everyone! Just had a question, I currently have an adult female crested that's 38g and a male crsted that's about 35g. This is my first time breeding them and I've had them together in the same enclosure and no other cresteds for about a month. Only, I recently found two eggs in her laybox on the 19th of this month and again yesterday (21st). Is it normal for a female crested to lay more than 2 eggs a month and has this ever happened to anybody else?

Thanks
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 799 Posts

It's not normal, but I have heard people mention it. However, is it possible that she laid the first eggs a few weeks before you found them? How do they look? It's possible she was retaining infertile eggs before being introduced to the male and just wasn't comfortable laying them earlier.
    Specializing in Crested Geckos
    Working with Uromastyx | Uroplatus | PI Chahoua
    Also keeping: Australian Shepherds (Chester & Sadie)
    Moon Valley Reptiles | MVR @iherp | Facebook

Thanks

There could've been no way she laid eggs before I found them because I always check her laybox if I notice any changes in the dirt layout. It's also very strange because after she laid her first clutch of 2 eggs I checked the female crested and noticed that she felt bumpy on her sides right by her back legs and noticed she was still messing with her laybox. Then 2 days later I found the other clutch and I felt for her bumps and didn't find any anymore. The first clutch of eggs looks fertile, the second so far don't look fertile but I'm incubating them just in case and until I see any changes.

Thanks

If you're 100% sure that she didn't lay them earlier, perhaps she was eggbound for a bit, and so had two sets going?

Does she appear to be OK now- doesn't look dehydrated, no kinked tail, anything like that?

Thanks