Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Why are leachies so expensive?

Thanks

Default Why are leachies so expensive?

I'm new to lizards among New Caledonian. But I absolutely love Leachies! I really am interested in getting one, but my gosh 400$ is outta my price range. Why are they so expensive?

Thanks

They are expensive due to hard to get ahold of, and breeding.
    Some animals dont produce a large number of clutches per year, and have low hatch rates.
    This is one of the many reasons things can be so expensive in the reptile world.
    1.0.0 Rose hair
    1.0.0 Rhacodactylus ciliatus
    1.0.0 Cockatiel
    0.2.0 Parakeet
    0.2.0 Ferrets

Thanks

Supply and demand.

They are harder to produce (pairs fight, it takes a LONG time for leachies to mature and reach their full adult size 2+ years) and the hatchrate of clutches is lower than cresteds. Plus not as MANY are being produced as cresteds, so supply is low but the demand is still high thus the pricing.

Its offensive to ask a question like this IMO. You are new to the species and right away think you ought to get an animal for lower than market value, or be told why they should be so pricey.

If I went onto a ball pythons forum, and requested to be sold a cutting edge animal for half the rate, or suggested that it was "Too pricey" I'd get cooked.

A little googling could have circumvented this thread.
    Meg
    THE GECKO ALCHEMIST
    on facebook

Thanks

Not to mention, not all males and females are compatable. If they don't like each other they will fight to the death. But if they do they are concidered bonded for life.
    Its geckolicious!
    http://amreptiles.webs.com/

Thanks