Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Feeding crickets

Thanks

Default Feeding crickets

I have two cresties - an 8-gram and a 5.6-gram. I've been feeding both of them strictly CGD, but I'd like to add crickets to their diet. I plan to offer crickets once per week. How many crickets would geckos of this size typically eat in one sitting? I was going to get the small crickets, and try about 4-6 crickets per gecko. I'm going to make sure they're gut-loaded. What product do you recommend for calcium dusting?

Also, what product do you use to house your crickets? How long do crickets live? And what do I need to offer/feed them to keep them alive?

TIA for your help - I'm new to this and don't want to mess it up!
    Laura
    1.1 Dogs: Dugan, Avy
    1.0 Bengal cat: Casper
    3.0 Mongolian gerbil: Rex, Diggs, Geronimo
    0.0.2 Rhacodactylus ciliatus: Nyx, Carl
    RIP Indycat

Thanks

Make sure the crickets are no longer than the space between the geckos' eyes.

I'm also interested in hearing how many crickets people feed in one sitting (or one night). I often do 4-6 but I have no idea if this is good.

For dusting I use Repti-Cal+. The Repashy product is also highly recommended, just make sure you get the one recommended for dusting and with the right amount of vitamin D.

I bought a little plastic container called a "Cricket Keeper" when I bought the crickets. It has two black tubes that the crickets can climb in, and then you can just remove the tube and shake out however many crickets you want.

I feed them some sort of orange cubes that have vitamins, calcium, water, etc, and some sort of yellow soft gel that has water and calcium.
    *** My "N" key is actig up. Luckily, there's no "N" in "crested gecko" or "Rhacodactylus ciliatus".***

2.3.9.12 cresties
    0.2 cats
    0.1 German Shepherd Dogs
    1.1.2 humans (that's 1 adult male, 1 adult female (me), and two male juvies)

Thanks