Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Preventing tail loss

Thanks

Default Preventing tail loss

Does anyone have advice on how to help your gecko keep its tail? I am new to them and, while I will love mine very much tail or no tail, I would prefer it to keep its tail (they just look more complete that way). Any advice? (I realize pinching/pulling the tail is on the VERY bad idea list, but what else can bring it about?) Thanks.

Thanks

If the gecko is living alone it is very unlikely anything will happen to the tail. It's usually cagemates that do the most damage. If you see bites on the tail, separate them IMMEDIATELY. I didn't once and came home to a missing tail. I mean missing. I think it was eaten...

Thanks

Heavens! That is, truly, a missing tail! I will only have one gecko (that's all my apartment will allow but I am ecstatic to have the one finally!) so the threat of cagemates is nullified. Any tips on handling? Because I am hoping I get a friendly one.

Thanks

Depending on how young your getting them i've had mine hatch out and drop tails because of the mister or because of the vanccume running. Sometimes as old as 3 months. Just handle with care theres nothing you can reallly do to prevent them from dropping there tail if you scare them good enough they will drop it. I do have one gecko thou that you can hang from his tail and do all kids of stuff to him but he's so chill he dosn't care he loves his tail and wouldn never drop it.

Thanks

When you said "sometimes as old as 3 months" were you implying that after 3 months they become less likely to drop their tails? Is there an age that once they reach it they seem more chilled out in that reguard?

Thanks