Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How many eggs?

Thanks

Default How many eggs?

i am new to the whole crested gecko keeping and next year when i find owt wat my little is (male or female) then i will be possibly getting another adult but opposite sex, you see where im going, how many eggs can i expect if i bredd them?

Thanks

they lay any where between 6-10 clutches average, some more. with each clutch have 2 eggs.
    0.2.1 Rhacodactylus ciliatus Pebbles & Radar
    0.0.1 T roborowskii
    0.3 Lepidodactylus lugubris lucy, lucy, lucy
    0.1 weiner dog(Phoebe)[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Thanks

when do they start laying eggs. and will they lay eggs even if no male is present?

Thanks

They can lay eggs with on male present but in my xp no more then one clutch
    3.2.4.1 - Crested Gecko's (Rhacodactylus ciliatus)
    1.0 collard lizard's (Crotaphytus bicinctores)
    1.1 dog's
    lot's of fish

Thanks

I am going to have to disagree with Eric on this one. I have both a female Crested and female Gargoyle that I raised from 3-4 gram hatchlings that lay eggs on a regular basis (every 4-8 weeks, in summer). Both are now ~2+ years old, neither of these have ever been exposed to a male.

I also have an adult female (my son's actually) that was paired with a male in the spring that laid 5 clutches of eggs through the rest of the season.

It is very common for keepers to introduce the males only at the beginning of the breeding season and then remove them for the entire laying season (less stress on the females).

To Reptiledanny:
    If you are new to Cresteds, you shouldn't be looking to breed them... How about getting the basics of their care and health down pat first. They really are pretty basic, but give yourself a bit of time first and be realistic about your own motivations and commitments. If after keeping them for a year or so you find that you really do enjoy keeping/caring for these animals as a hobby, then sure, look to breed them.