Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Nooby Snake?

Thanks

Default Nooby Snake?

Hello everyone,
    I am brand new to snakes but Im starting to get interested in them. Can anyone recommend a good first time beginner snake? Id like it to be generally small, easy to handle, and simple to care for. Also, does their food need to be alive? Lastly, Im afraid of being bit by one so does it hurt if your bit and whats a good way you recommend to not get bit without wearing gloves and such? Just like gentle handling?
    These are the questions I have for now but I will have a lot more. Thank you everyone.

Thanks

Hey!

Someone I can relate to! About a week ago I posted a very similar thread with the same question about beginner snakes. Here is a link: http://www.pangeareptile.com/forums/...ad.php?t=11183

Since last week when I posted that, I went down to the White Plains reptile expo on Sunday and came home with this absolutely awesome Columbian Redtail Boa (in my avatar). He is SOOO personable. I honestly didn't think that snakes could be so friendly haha. However hes going to get pretty big, 7-10 feet, so that might not be what your looking for if you want one that won't get to big. I've heard that corn snakes are awesome beginner pets. You might also want to look into Ball Pythons, however they also get fairly big (5-6 feet I think, someone correct me if I'm wrong please ). I think they are really great and I've held a few and they seem to be VERY laid back and relaxed.

As for feeding live food, no you don't have to at all! As a matter of fact a lot of people will tell you that you probably shouldn't. I myself do not feed live because I am mainly afraid that if my snake isn't hungry, then he won't be interested in the food given to him and before you know it the prey can bit the snake and if you check out Dr. Alan's website at http://www.downeastherps.com/
    you will find pictures and stories of snakes being attacked by mice and rats.